Library Facts

Welcome to Schlow Centre Region Library!

Schlow is proud to serve the residents of State College Borough and College, Ferguson, Halfmoon, Harris, and Patton Townships!

  • All Centre County residents can use Schlow, the Centre of Reading and Learning, with free library cards available from any public library in the County.
  • Browse or check out our 150,000 items, available at either Schlow or online.
  • Our staff serves patrons more than 1,000,000 times a year through visits, checkouts, programs and many other services.​ 
  • Schlow was named after prominent local businessman Charles Schlow, who in 1957 donated space in a West College Ave. house for the original Library.
  • Schlow's Strategic Plan summarizes the Library's mission, values, and goals.
  • Schlow is pronounced with a hard 'sk' sound and rhymes with glow!

The Schlow Management Team

  • Lisa Rives Collens, Library Director
  • Paula Bannon, Head of Children's Services
  • Maria Burchill, Head of Adult Services
  • Brady Clemens, District Library Consultant
  • Ben Drain​, Head of Patron Services
  • Molly Hetrick, Manager of Philanthropy
  • DJ Lilly, Office Manager
  • Nathaniel Rasmussen, Head of Information Technology Services
  • Diane Schmidt, Head of Technical & Volunteer Services​
  • Amy Caputo, Communications Manager

Question or Concern?  Please share it with us.

The Schlow Board of Trustees

Schlow Library is governed by a nine-member Board of Trustees appointed by the municipal governments in the Centre Region. 

Contact the Board

Board of Trustees Meeting Schedule

The Board of Trustees monthly meeting is typically held the 2nd Wednesday of each month at 6:00pm in Schlow's Downsbrough Community Room. The public is welcome to attend.

Please contact us to confirm a specific meeting date. Notification of changes will be printed in the Centre Daily Times

Current Board of Trustees

  • Casey McClain, President, PattonTownship
  • Katherine Genovese, Vice President - Harris Township
  • Linda Trevino, Secretary - Patton Township
  • Kimberly Fragola, Treasurer - College Township
  • Peter Kemper - State College Borough
  • Sharon Rovansek - Halfmoon Township
  • Susan Welch - State College Borough
  • Sue Werner - Ferguson Township
  • Barbara ZiffFerguson Township

You can contact the Schlow board president by clicking here.


PDF icon 2021 SCRL Strategic Plan.pdf45.32 KB
Schlow's Cupola Logo